Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


SBE Honors ‘Member #1’ With Lifetime Achievement Award

SBE Honors 'Member #1' With Lifetime Achievement Award

The Society of Broadcast Engineers presented John Battison, P.E., CPBE with its Lifetime Achievement Award on April 25 at the SBE’s spring Membership Meeting, held during the annual NAB convention in Las Vegas.
Battison, known as “Member #1,” is the founder of the SBE, formed in 1963 with the first official meeting at the NAB convention of 1964. He also has received the NAB Achievement Award for Radio, and was named a Fellow of SBE in 1986. Additionally, he was nominated as a Commissioner to the FCC in 1961, and is listed in Who’s Who in America.
Past recipients of the SBE’s Lifetime Achievement Award include James C. Wulliman, CPBE; Benjamin Wolfe, CSBE; Philo T. Farnsworth; Pem Farnsworth; Morris H. Blum, CBT; Richard W. Burden, CPBE; and Richard A. Rudman, CPBE.