Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


SBE Names Barry Thomas Its 25th President

Barry Thomas was elected the 25th president of the Society of Broadcast Engineers.

Barry Thomas was elected the 25th president of the Society of Broadcast Engineers.

He was running unopposed. Thomas is vice president of engineering, radio, for Lincoln Financial Media. He most recently was the national society’s treasurer and chairs its strategic planning committee.

Thomas has served at the chapter level in several markets and is active with Chapter 5 in Atlanta. He has been a member of since 1986. His one-year term begins Oct. 11 at the SBE’s national meeting in Pittsburgh.

Vincent Lopez was elected vice president. Lopez is the director of engineering for WSYT/WNYS-TV/Sinclair Broadcast Group in Syracuse, N.Y. He is a member and past chairman of Chapter 22 of central New York, and has been a member of the national SBE board of directors since 2000, most recently serving as national secretary. He has been a member of SBE since 1991.

Ted Hand was elected SBE secretary and Ralph Hogan treasurer. Hand is chief engineer of WSOC(TV) and WAXN(TV) in Charlotte, N.C. Hogan is assistant general manager, engineering services, Washington State University.

Six members were elected to seats on the board of directors. They include Cris Alexander, director of engineering, Crawford Broadcasting Co., Denver; Andrea B. Cummis, senior vice president, engineering and technology, American Desi TV; Dane Ericksen, senior engineer, Hammett & Edison Inc.; Clay Freinwald, RF systems engineer, Entercom Communications, Seattle; Hal H. Hostetler, senior engineer/IT director, KVOA(TV); and Jerry Massey, corporate regional engineer and director of engineering, Entercom Communications, Greenville, S.C.