Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


SCBA Names Scholarships Winners

Awards are centered at SoCal schools to promote radio broadcasting

The Southern California Broadcasters Association has announced the winners of its 2013 radio broadcasting award scholarships.

Winning the $1,000 Ben Hoberman Radio Broadcasting Award, based at California State University at Los Angeles, is Jacqueline Iniga. She has said her career goal is to become a radio announcer.

Brandon Lang (shown) of Cal State Fullerton won the $500 Stan Spero Radio Broadcasting Award while Andrew Louie won the $500 George Nickolaw Radio Broadcasting Award at Pasadena City College. Lang has said he wants to become a GM and Louie has the ambitious goal of “becoming a radio announcer with the Los Angeles Lakers once he graduates,” according to a release. Both work at their respective schools’ radio operations.

The awards are specific to the schools and result from the efforts of advertising executive Dennis Holt and others saluting his efforts. The SCBA Scholarship Fund was established from the proceeds of a Lifetime Achievement Award dinner for Holt in 2000. A release notes that 24 students have been helped by these awards since they were established.