Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Mike Cooney to Receive NAB Radio Engineering Achievement Award

Doug Lung will receive the TV award

Mike Cooney headshot
Mike Cooney

Mike Cooney, chief technology officer of Beasley Media Group, will receive the NAB Radio Engineering Achievement Award from the National Association of Broadcasters next month in Las Vegas.

The TV engineering award recipient is Doug Lung of NBCUniversal.

Cooney joined Beasley in 2007. He is a member of the Beasley executive committee and is responsible for the supervision and oversight of all engineering and technology matters related to Beasley’s 61 radio stations, as well as assisting in the management of its capital and operating budgets. Cooney received the Radio World Excellence in Engineering Award in 2016.

Doug Lung headshot
Doug Lung

“Cooney is well-known in broadcast radio as a stakeholder and leader on numerous industry working groups,” NAB said in the announcement. “He is a former chairman of NAB’ s Radio Technology Committee, a member of the NAB Automotive Initiative Committee, a member of the Technical Committee for the Broadcast Traffic Consortium and a former radio representative for the NAB FASTROAD Committee.”

Doug Lung is vice president of broadcast technology for NBCUniversal Local. He leads NBC and Telemundo-owned stations’ RF and transmission affairs, including microwave, radars, satellite uplinks and FCC technical filings.

“Beginning his career in 1976 at KSCI in Los Angeles, Lung has nearly 50 years of experience in broadcast television engineering,” NAB said. “Beginning in 1985, he led the engineering department for what was to become the Telemundo network and station group, assisting in the design, construction and installation of the company’ s broadcast and cable facilities. Other projects include work on the launch of Hawaii’ s first UHF TV station, the rollout and testing of the ATSC mobile-handheld standard, and software development related to the incentive auction TV spectrum repack.”

He is a longtime columnist for Radio World sister publication TV Technology and a regular contributor to IEEE Broadcast Technology. He is a past recipient of a Tech Leadership Award from TVT/RW parent company Future in 2021 and is a member of the IEEE Broadcast Technology Society and the Society of Broadcast Engineers.

[For More News on the NAB Show See Our NAB Show News Page]