Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Southern MX LPFMs Up to Bat

Next group of MX applicants get ready for judgment

In the spirit of the holidays, the FCC has announced that it is moving onto the next group of Mutually Exclusive, i.e. “MX,” low-power FM radio station license applicants — this time for select southern states. That announcement is here.

A release said that there were 281 applications in 96 groups. The applications will be rated on a points system with the criteria measured being: established community presence of at least two years; commitment to originate local programming; commitment to maintain a main studio; commitment to originate local programming and to maintain a main studio; diversity of ownership; and tribal applicants serving tribal lands.

The states covered are Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Oklahoma and Texas. Puerto Rico is also included in the group. The list of applicants can be found here.

According to the commission, starting today, there will be a 30-day period for filing petitions to deny applicants and there is a 90-day period for the filing of time-share proposals and major application amendments.