Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Texas Association of Broadcasters to Honor Four

Sellmeyer earns George Marti Award for Engineering Excellence

The Texas Association of Broadcasters will honor four broadcast leaders at its Annual Awards Gala Aug. 7, from 7–10 p.m. at the Renaissance Austin Hotel. The gala is part of the association’s 61st Annual Convention and Trade Show, in Austin, Texas.

“Their contributions have strengthened our industry, expanded economic opportunity and advanced broadcasters’ unique role in building local communities,” said TAB President Oscar Rodriguez.

George Marti Award for Engineering Excellence — Jack Sellmeyer, Sellmeyer Engineering
For more than 60 years, Sellmeyer has worked in the field of broadcast engineering, innovation, research and design. He gained three patents while working at Collins Radio in Dallas and is the co-inventor of the patented automatic modulation sensitivity control.

His ability to simplify complex issues for GMs, owners and others has made him active in educational work at many industry technical seminars and workshops, especially in the area of AM directional antennas, a release said.

In 2009 the NAB awarded him with their NAB Radio Engineering Achievement Award. He was profiled in Radio World.

Educator of the Year — Dr. Sam Sauls, University of North Texas (Ret.)
Sauls has been in the field of education for more than three decades. He has combined his experience in commercial and noncommercial radio to help advance broadcasting through education and served as a lecturer, assistant professor and associate professor at the University of North Texas for more than 15 years before being named associate chair and director of graduate studies for its department of radio, television and film.

Broadcaster of the Year — Tom Ehlmann, KXAS(TV) Dallas-Fort Worth
Ehlmann has been president/general manager of NBC5 in Dallas-Fort Worth since 2008. KXAS was the first TV station in Texas, signing on in 1948. In November 2013, after 65 years in its original facility, the station moved 18 miles to the center of Dallas-Fort Worth into a newly constructed building, under Ehlmann’s supervision.

Pioneer of the Year — Larry Safir, Entravision Communications Rio Grande Valley (Ret.)
Safir’s career started at the age of 15, selling airtime for the nation’s first Spanish-language radio station, KCOR(AM) San Antonio. In 1992, he and his partner purchased a TV license, secured the Univision affiliation and KNVO(TV) was on the air in the Rio Grande Valley. He also developed and implemented the South Texas DMA’s first Spanish-language TV newscast.