Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Texas Radio Hall of Fame Names New Inductees

Ceremony to be held in November

The Texas Radio Hall of Fame announced its 2015 inductees. Personalities, engineers, news anchors and managers are among the names. They were selected by Lifetime Voting Members. The Texas Radio Hall of Fame’s Induction Celebration will be held in November in Austin.

Here’s the list, along with brief notes about the individuals provided to Radio World by Josh Holstead, operations manager for the Texas Radio Hall of Fame.

2015 Inductees
Roger Ramsey — Corpus Christi Personality; Record Promotion MCA Records (Southwest/Country)
Jay Ward — News Anchor/Reporter, WRR/KBOX, Dallas/Ft. Worth
Bob Pickett — Personality/Music Director, KVET and KASE, Austin

Bobby Kraig — Program Director, KPLX, Dallas; Head of Arista Records Country Division

Tom Franklin — Sports Anchor/Reporter/Play-By-Play Announcer, KNUZ/KQUE/ KTRH and Houston Oilers
Joe Tom White — Personality, KWFT/KWFS, Wichita Falls — on the air for about 60 years
John Steel — Engineer, KNUZ/KQUE/KLDE/KUHF, Houston

Betsy Britton — Personality, KRIO/KTEX, McAllen, KVET, Austin, WTAW, College Station

Roger Emrich — Sports Anchor/News Reporter, KRLD Radio
Don Armstrong — News Anchor/Personality/Talk Show Host, KLYX/KPRC, Houston
Jerome Davis — News Anchor/Reporter KFJZ Ft. Worth

Andy Hudak — Engineer KIKK/KKBQ Houston, Road Engineer, Houston Oilers (and Houston Texans)

Derrill Holly — News Anchor/Reporter KIKK, Houston
Barry Warner — Sports Anchor/Personality, KIKK, Houston, KILT(AM), Houston
Carl Brazell — General Manager, KRLD/KTRH/Metromedia

2015 Feature: Trailblazers (to be posthumously inducted):
Harold Hough — WBAP Radio, armed with an $800 investment, 820am in Ft. Worth was born
Alfred P. Daniel — Known as “The Dean of Houston Radio” and owner of the city’s second broadcast signal, KPRC
Pappy O’Daniel — Politician, Proprietor, PR Agent, “Pass the Biscuits, Pappy.”
Snuff Garrett — Personality responsible for introducing Buddy Holly to the world
Charles Henry “Dad” Garrett — Owner, WRR Radio, the second broadcast frequency in Texas

2015 Feature: News Makers & Risk Takers (to be posthumously inducted):
Ed Shane — Consultant/Talk Show Host/Personality and revolutionary “girl talk” pioneer
Dick Siegel — Pilot and Personality, KLIF/KPLX, WBAP radio Ft. Worth/Dallas.

Martini and Edmonds — Anita Martini broke the gender barrier, and was first female reporter to cover locker room press conferences. Mike Edmonds was play-by-play announcer for the University of Houston and Program Director of KILT/610, the first all-sports station in Houston

Sam Pate — Long-time Dallas-Ft. Worth radio and TV reporter; the first reporter in the nation to report shots had been fired in Kennedy motorcade.
Ted Norman — VP/GM of KSCS, Ft. Worth.While his early life is worthy of a book itself, Ted’s broadcasting legacy lies on the 96.3 frequency, where, as companion to sister station WBAP 820am’s “Country Gold” format KSCS, FM96 “Silver Country Stereo” was created

Mary Sam Stoddard “Sammy” Award Winner:
Jean Longwith — SAC Radio/TV Instructor

The program will be dedicated to the life and career of Dallas-Ft. Worth personality Terry Dorsey, who passed away earlier this year.