Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


WBA Inducts Five to Hall of Fame

WBA Inducts Five to Hall of Fame

Five Wisconsin broadcasters were recognized for their career longevity and contributions to radio and television with induction into the Wisconsin Broadcasters Hall of Fame, bringing membership to 83. The WBA Hall of Fame was established in 1989, and honors broadcasters after a fifteen-year career, ten of which were served in Wisconsin.
The inductees are: Jack Baker, who was inducted posthumously; Terry Baun; Phil Fisher; Susan Knaack; and Dave Raven. Award plaques were presented at the Hall of Fame gala, as part of the WBA’s annual summer conference.
Jack Baker’s 57-year career in radio broadcasting began in 1945 as a program host for Racine’s WRJN(AM) radio. He spent 38 years with WTMJ(AM) as host of two call-in shows, one covering current events and one entitled, “Sportstalk.” He also debuted the station’s dance band music show “Sunday Soundstage” in 1980. The show ran until 1992, when Baker retired.
Terry Baun’s broadcasting career spans more than 35 years, beginning in 1967 at Milwaukee’s classical music station WFMR(FM). He later formed the Criterion Broadcast Services consulting firm; and served on the SBE Board of Directors from 1987-89, and later as SBE national president from 1995-97. He currently serves Wis., Ind. and Ohio as chief ABIP inspector, as well as principal of Criterion Broadcast Services.
Phil Fisher began his nearly 40-year career at WISM(AM) in Madison. He became known in the Wisconsin radio industry for his in-house sales training programs in the 1960s.
Susan Knaack’s 38-year career began in 1964 in Oshkosh as a copywriter. She served eight years on the board of directors of the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association and was its first woman board chair from 1993-94.
Dave Raven spent more than 45 years in the radio. He owned and operated WMQA(AM-FM) in Minocqua and WHDG(FM) in Rhinelander from 1992 until his retirement in 2000. He also served four years on the WBA Board from 1993-97, and served on the Board for the National Radio Broadcasters Association and the ABC Radio Network Affiliates.