Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Who’s Your Favorite Public Radio Engineer?

Nominate him or her for the APRE Engineering Achievement Award

The Association of Public Radio Engineers is accepting nominations for the Seventh Annual APRE Engineering Achievement Award.

The honor is to be awarded to a single individual for “outstanding contributions” to the art and/or science of radio engineering that has made a “significant impact on, or improvement in” the state of the public radio industry.

Last year’s recipient was Mike Starling, vice president, Technology Research Center & NPR Labs. V-Soft Communications President/CEO Doug Vernier was honored in 2011.

Past honorees have included Roger Karwoski, assistant manager and director of engineering for KBIA(FM), Columbia, Mo.; Donald Creighton, vice president of technology for Minnesota Public Radio and American Public Media; Richard Cassidy, director of IT and New Media for WAMU(FM), Washington; Wayne Hetrich, one of NPR’s 30 original employees; Chuck Leavens, director of engineering and information technology management for WDUQ(FM), Pittsburgh; Marty Bloss, former director of technology at NPR; Don Danko, vice president for Engineering, Cincinnati Public Radio; John Kean of NPR Labs; Jim McEachern of NPR and Mike Pappas, chief engineer of KUVO(FM), Denver.

The nomination deadline is March 4. To suggest your favorite public radio engineer a nomination form can be downloaded at the APRE website. Direct questions about the award process to Gordon Carter.

The award will be presented at the NPR Labs/APRE Engineering Dinner, held during the 13th annual Public Radio Engineering Conference in Las Vegas, April 4–5.