Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Marconi Award Finalists Revealed

Marconi Award Finalists Revealed

The Marconi Radio Awards competition heats up as NAB unveiled the finalists for the 2002 competition. More than 100 radio stations and on-air personalities have been selected. The Marconi Awards – established in 1989 and named after inventor and Nobel Prize winner Guglielmo Marconi – are handed out to radio stations and outstanding air personalities to recognize excellence in radio. An independent task force selected finalists in 20 categories. Ballots will be sent to members of the NAB Marconi Radio Awards Selection Academy in mid-July. The winners in each category will be announced during the NAB Radio Show on Sept. 14 at the NAB Marconi Radio Awards Dinner & Show at the Washington State Convention and Trade Center in Seattle.

The nominees are:
Legendary Station of the Year: KSL, Salt Lake City, KSTP-AM, Minneapolis; WABC, New York; WBEB, Philadelphia and WSB-AM, Atlanta.

Network Syndicated Personality of the Year: Bob & Sheri, Jefferson-Pilot Radio Network; Neal Boortz, Cox Radio Syndication; Dick Clark, United Stations; Paul Harvey, ABC Radio Networks and Tom Joyner, ABC Radio Networks.

Major Market Station of the Year: KDFC, San Francisco; KOST, Los Angeles; KPLX, Dallas; WGN, Chicago and WUSL, Philadelphia.

Large Market Station of the Year: KIRO, Seattle; KPRS, Kansas City, Mo.; WBAB, Nassau/Suffolk, N.Y.; WEBN, Cincinnati and WGAR, Cleveland.

Medium Market Station of the Year: KIOA, Des Moines, Iowa; KOMA, Oklahoma City;
WDEL, Wilmington, Del.; WFMS, Indianapolis and WTCB, Columbia, S.C.

Small Market Station of the Year: KSHA, Redding, Calif.; KTLO, Mountain Home, Ark. ; KWCL, Oak Grove, La.; WKDZ, Cadiz, Ky. and WVAQ, Morgantown, W.Va.

Major Market Personality of the Year: Big Boy, KPWR, Los Angeles; Larry Elder, KABC, Los Angeles; Jim Ladd, KLOS, Los Angeles; Dennis Owens, WGMS, Washington and Pierre Robert, WMMR, Philadelphia.

Large Market Personality of the Year: Roger Hedgecock, KOGO-AM, San Diego;
John Lanigan & Jimmy Malone, WMJI, Cleveland; Dave Ross, KIRO, Seattle; Jim Scott, WLW, Cincinnati and Van & Cheryl, KSTP-FM, Minneapolis.

Medium Market Personality of the Year: Cathy Blythe, KFOR, Lincoln, Neb.; Van Harden & Bonnie Lucas, WHO, Des Moines, Iowa; Scott Innes, WYNK-FM, Baton Rouge, La.; Kevin Miller, WERC, Birmingham, Ala. and T. J. Trout, KZRR, Albuquerque, N.M.

Small Market Personality of the Year: Terry Bell, KKAJ, Ardmore, Okla.; Al Caldwell, KLVI, Beaumont, Texas; Allan James & Amber Stearns, WZWZ, Kokomo, Ind.; Will Payne & Barry Diamond, KITX, Hugo, Okla. and Danny Preston, KMBQ, Wasilla, Ark.

AC Station of the Year: KSTP-FM, Minneapolis; KUDL, Kansas City, Mo.; WBEB, Philadelphia; WLTW, New York and WSNY, Columbus, Ohio.

Adult Standards Station of the Year: KABL, San Francisco; KMRY, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; WAMB, Nashville, Tenn.; WOSN, Vero Beach, Fla. and WROD, Daytona Beach, Fla.

CHR Station of the Year: KDON, Monterey/Salinas, Calif.; KPWR, Los Angeles; WBLI, Nassau/Suffolk, N.Y.; WIAL, Eau Claire, Wis. and WSTW, Wilmington, Del.

Country Station of the Year: WAXX, Eau Claire, Wis.; WFMS, Indianapolis; WIVK, Knoxville, Tenn.; WKCQ, Saginaw, Mich. and WMZQ, Washington.

News/Talk/Sports Station of the Year: KGO, San Francisco; KSL, Salt Lake City; WEOL, Elyria, Ohio; WGY, Albany, N.Y. and WIBC, Indianapolis.

Oldies Station of the Year: KIOA, Des Moines, Iowa; KQOL, Las Vegas; WBIG-FM, Washington; WGLD, Indianapolis and WMJI, Cleveland.

Religious Station of the Year: KFSH-FM, Los Angeles; KGBI, Omaha, Neb.; KTSY, Caldwell, Idaho; WRCM, Charlotte, N.C. and WVEL, Pekin, Ill.

Rock Station of the Year: KLAQ, El Paso, Texas; KOZT, Fort Bragg, Calif.; KQRC, Kansas City, Mo.; KQRS, Minneapolis and WFBQ, Indianapolis.

Spanish Station of the Year: KGBT-FM, McAllen, Texas; KLNZ, Phoenix; KLTN, Houston; KSOL, San Francisco and KXXS, Austin, Texas.

Urban Station of the Year: KVEE, Lake Charles, La.;WAMO, Pittsburgh;WJLB, Detroit;
WMCS, Milwaukee and WUSL, Philadelphia.