Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


NAB Will Honor “All Things Considered”

Iconic public radio show to be inducted into its Broadcasting Hall of Fame

all things considered logo“All Things Considered” will be inducted into the NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame.

The announcement was made by National Association of Broadcasters President/CEO Gordon Smith.

The iconic public radio program will be honored at the NAB Show in Las Vegas in October. Executive Producer Cara Tallo and host Ailsa Chang will accept the award.

“ATC made its debut broadcast 50 years ago on May 3, 1971, airing on 90 public radio stations,” NAB stated in the announcement. “Now broadcasting live every weekday for two hours and for one hour every Saturday and Sunday, ATC is the most listened-to, afternoon drive-time news radio program in the country.”

“Hosted by Chang, Audie Cornish, Mary Louise Kelly and Ari Shapiro and on weekends by Michel Martin, ATC airs coverage of the most important news of the day, reports from NPR correspondents in the U.S. and around the world, thoughtful commentaries, interviews with newsmakers and features on arts, music and entertainment.”

All Things Considered 1981 group photo
In this image from the NPR website, the staff of “All Things Considered” celebrate its 10th anniversary in 1981. Click the image to see an NPR timeline.

NAB noted that ATC has been honored with the George Foster Peabody Award, the Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Award and the Overseas Press Club Award.

Recent radio inductees include Cathy Hughes, Elvis Duran, Delilah and Mike & Mike.

[Read our profile of John Records Landecker, the 2020 radio recipient.]

Iconic radio people inducted earlier include the likes of Walter Winchell, Wolfman Jack, Ronald Reagan and Kate Smith. The Hall of Fame began in 1977.