Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


NAB Opens Nominations for 2023 Technology Awards

Who should receive the Engineering Achievement Award? Here's your chance to speak up

headshots of Ashruf El-Dinary and Peter Sockett
Ashruf El-Dinary and Peter Sockett, last year’s recipients of the NAB Engineering Achievement Awards.

The National Association of Broadcasters is now taking nominations its 2023 NAB Technology Awards, to be presented at next spring’s NAB Show in Las Vegas.

Two Engineering Achievement Awards are presented each year to individuals for their outstanding accomplishments in the radio and television broadcast industries. These awards have been given since 1959. Recipients have included such radio engineering luminaries as John A. Moseley, Carl E. Smith, Jules Cohen, Hilmer Swanson, George Marti, Charlie Morgan, Arno Meyer, Louis A. King and his son Tom, and many others.

This past year, the radio recipient was Ashruf El-Dinary of Xperi (read our profile story which includes the full list of past radio winners). The TV recipient was Peter Sockett of Capitol Broadcasting Co.

The NAB Digital Leadership Award honors a person at a station, group or network who has had a significant role in transforming a traditional broadcast business to succeed on digital media platforms in a measurable way. This past year’s winner was Jeremy Sinon, vice president of digital strategy for Hubbard Radio.

And the Technology Innovation Award is presented to an organization for advanced research and development projects in communications technologies. The technology must demonstrate significant merit, be exhibited at NAB Show and not yet commercialized. The recent recipient was Advanced Image Robotics for demonstration of the AIR One cloud-native remote camera control and video production platform.

The deadline for nominations is Monday, Jan. 9, 2023. Find the relevant info and forms at