Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


NAB to Honor Woodruff for Distinguished Service

ABC News journalist will receive award during 2016 NAB Show

ABC News journalist Bob Woodruff will receive the NAB Distinguished Service Award during the 2016 NAB Show.

Woodruff has covered national and international stories for ABC News since 1996. In December 2005, he was named co-anchor of “ABC World News Tonight,” taking over for Peter Jennings.

After he was seriously injured by a roadside bomb in Iraq in January 2006, Woodruff returned to ABC News with “To Iraq and Back: Bob Woodruff Reports.” The prime time documentary chronicled his traumatic brain injury and the plight of thousands of service members who suffer from similar injuries. He was honored subsequently with a Peabody Award for his reporting on the topic.

He has also been recognized for reporting on the rise of the Chinese economy, former presidential candidate John Edwards, the Sept. 11 attacks, the death of Pope John Paul II and the election of Pope Benedict XVI, among many other significant subjects.

In 2007, Woodruff and his wife, Lee, co-wrote “In an Instant,” which chronicles his injuries in Iraq and what happened when he came home. They also established the Bob Woodruff Foundation, which raises money for injured service members, veterans and their families. To date, the foundation has raised $30 million for hundreds of military and veterans programs and nearly two million service members.

“From Afghanistan to Iraq to North Korea, Bob has been on the front lines of the most important stories,” said NAB President and CEO Gordon Smith. “The personal tragedy he has faced in pursuit of the news, in addition to his philanthropic efforts, make him more than qualified for NAB’s highest honor.”

Each year, the NAB DSA recognizes members of the broadcast community who have made significant and lasting contributions to the industry. Previous award recipients include Jerry Lewis, Jorge Ramos, Bob Schieffer, President Ronald Reagan, Edward R. Murrow, Bob Hope, Walter Cronkite, among others.

Woodruff will accept the award at the NAB Show Opening in Las Vegas, sponsored by Blackmagic Design, on April 18.