Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


BEA to Handle Bayliss Scholarships

Kit Hunter Franke hands off on Nov. 1

The John Bayliss Broadcast Foundation announced that its Bayliss Radio Scholarship Fund will be administered in the future by the Broadcast Education Association.

The Bayliss Radio Scholarship Fund awards scholarships to those interested in radio careers. The organization has been searching for new direction and funding. Not long ago it stopped holding its annual Radio Roasts, and subsequently experimented with an online benefit auction fundraising approach.

“Bayliss Foundation Executive Director Kit Hunter Franke will transfer the administration of the scholarship program and funding to BEA on Nov. 1,” the organization stated. BEA is an association for professors, industry people and grad students interested in teaching and research related to electronic media and multimedia.

A liaison committee named by the Bayliss board includes Bishop Cheen, David Kennedy and Larry Patrick, who will “operate under this new structure until industry conditions permit a return to a self-governing independent entity.” Scholarships will be selected by BEA’s Scholarship Committee.

Heather Birks is executive director of the Broadcast Education Association, called it an “absolute honor” to be selected as the new home for the scholarships.

The John Bayliss Broadcast Foundation was named after the generous radio veteran and has awarded $1.2 million in scholarships to approximately 350 students since 1985.