Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Connecticut Broadcasters Creates Hall of Fame

Two engineers made the cut

The Connecticut Broadcasters Association has established a Connecticut Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame.

The first 12 members of the new Connecticut Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame are: Boyd E. Arnold (posthumously); Gerry Brooks; Pablo de Jesus Colon Jr.; Denise D’Ascenzo; Brad Davis; Arnold Dean (posthumously); Joe Dimaggio; Richard Ferguson; Bill Glynn; Ed Henry; John Ramsey; and Al Terzi.

Arnold was one of the founders of the Hartford Radio Association and a longtime board member. He was a partner and VP/GM of Beck-Ross Communications’ WHCN(FM), and later, for Marlin Broadcasting’s WCCC(FM). A mentor for numerous radio professionals, Boyd was involved with the Connecticut Broadcasters Association for as a board member, treasurer and president.

In addition to his TV work, Gerry Brooks began his career as news director for WAVZ(AM) radio in New Haven, and as a reporter for WMAS radio in Springfield, Mass. He then worked as sports director at WPOP(AM) news radio in Hartford while also serving as weekend sports Anchor for WVIT(TV) and provided color for University of Connecticut basketball games on the Connecticut Radio Network.

Pablo de Jesus Colon Jr. pioneered Hispanic radio in Connecticut. He spent two decades at WLVH(FM) in the roles of radio announcer, PD, sales manager and executive vice president. In 1989, he co-founded Radio Cumbre Broadcasting, WCUM(AM) in Bridgeport, and today is its president and CEO.

Denise D’Ascenzo is a nine-time Emmy Award and seven-time Associated Press-winning journalist who also has earned distinction as the longest serving news anchor at a single TV station. She came to WFSB(TV) in 1986 and is host of “Advancing Medicine.”

Brad Davis began working at a radio station in Chicopee, Mass., in 1956. He was hired by WTIC(TV) (now WFSB) to host “The Brad Davis Show” for 11 years. Prior to joining WDRC(AM), he also did radio work at WTIC(AM). And, since 1977, he has continuously hosted his own early morning talk show on WDRC that now also is heard on WMMW(AM), WWCO(AM) and WSNG(AM).

Arnold Dean, joined WTIC(AM) in 1965, was its sports director and the originator of the station’s sports talk, and did play-by-play for a range of live sports broadcasts. He also hosted music shows on the station.

Joe Dimaggio began his engineering career at WVIT in 1968. When he started in the industry he worked on 16mm and black & white film as a camera operator. He has done everything from lighting shows to operating master control, and then to his long career in engineering management.

Richard Ferguson retired in May 2006 after more than 40 years in radio. He served as chief operating officer and later as EVP of Cox Radio starting when Cox acquired NewCity Communications, a radio group he co-founded and led as president/CEO. He was a member of the Cox Radio Board from 1997 through 2006, and continues to consult. He has also served multiple terms as chairman of the NAB. Prior to founding NewCity Communications, he was president of Katz Broadcasting Co.

Bill Glynn of Wethersfield is the “voice” of high school sports and minor league baseball in Connecticut. He began his broadcasting career with WMRD(AM) in Middletown (originally WCNX).

Ed Henry hosts “Polish Melodies Show,” which airs every Sunday on WMRD and WLIS(AM), Old Saybrook, for 65 consecutive years.

John Ramsey, of West Hartford, entered the industry as a part-time announcer at the University of Hartford’s WWUH(FM) in 1970, and became a broadcast engineer in 1978. He currently is general manager of WWUH and is secretary of Chapter 14 of the Society of Broadcast Engineers, president of the Torrington Community Radio Foundation (licensee of WAPJ-FM in Torrington), and is the webmaster for

Al Terzihas news anchored at three of Connecticut’s TV network affiliates over the past 47 years. He began his career at WTIC as a staff announcer in 1968. He stepped down as a daily anchor last year, but still co-hosts the station’s weekly political show “The Real Story.”

The 2015 class of inductees will join the existing program of lifetime achievement awards. Over the last decade, the CBA has presented Lifetime Achievement Awards to Bud Finch, Dr. Mel Goldstein, Bob Steele and Paul Taff.

“We have created this Connecticut Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame to honor remarkable individuals for their long and particularly distinguished service to the broadcasting industry and to the people of Connecticut,” said Klarn DePalma, chair of the Connecticut Broadcasters Association, who also is VP and GM of WFSB(TV), Hartford, Conn. and WSHM(TV) and WGGB(TV) in Springfield, Mass.

The induction ceremony will be held Oct. 20, as part of the Connecticut Broadcasters Association 60th Annual Convention. The luncheon will be hosted at the Hartford Hilton in Downtown Hartford.