Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Co-Sponsors Added to Radio Act

Local Radio Freedom Act adds Senators and Representatives

Sens. Michael Enzi (R-Wyo.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.) and Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.) have signed on as co-sponsors of the Local Radio Freedom Act, which opposes any new performance fee for music airplay on broadcast radio stations.

The resolution was introduced in the Senate by Sen. John Barrasso (R-Wyo.) and Sen. Heidi Heitkamp (D-N.D.). The legislation currently has seven co-sponsors in the Senate.

The resolution, which was introduced in the House of Representatives by Reps. Michael Conaway (R-Texas) and Gene Green (D-Texas), now has 109 co-sponsors. Reps. Rodney Davis (R-Ill.), Tom Latham (R-Iowa), Adrian Smith (R-Neb.) and Richard Hudson (R-N.C.) are also co-sponsors of the House version of the resolution.