Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Cromwell’s Walters to Receive National Radio Award

He will be recognized in Indianapolis at the Radio Show

Bayard H. “Bud” Walters, founder and president of The Cromwell Group, will receive the National Radio Award during the Radio Show Luncheon on September 12.

“Bud Walters’ exemplary leadership and his enthusiasm for radio has had a positive impact on the industry,” said NAB Executive Vice President of Radio John David. “We salute Bud for his tireless devotion to serving local communities through the power of radio.”

Walters founded The Cromwell Group in 1972. It currently owns and operates 28 radio stations (six AM, 17 FM and five HD2+ translators) in Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky and Tennessee. Since building his first station in Hawesville, Ky., which he still owns, Walters has focused on start-up stations and upgrading licenses in small markets. He has also ensured that each station plays a vital role in its local community.

Walters currently serves as chairman of the RAB Board of Directors and is on the Radio Music Licensing Committee and DePauw University boards. In addition, he has served on the boards of NAB and the Kentucky and Tennessee Broadcasters Associations. Walters has been honored with Broadcaster of the Year Awards in Illinois, Kentucky and Tennessee and the Broadcasters Foundation of America Pioneer Award.

The National Radio Award honors an individual for outstanding leadership in the radio industry. Previous recipients include Ginny Morris, Dan Mason, Steve Newberry, Charles Warfield, Ed Christian, Bruce Reese, Jerry Lee, David Kennedy, John Dille, Lowry Mays, Jeff Smulyan, Bill Stakelin and Erica Farber.

The 2014 Radio Show is produced by the Radio Advertising Bureau and National Association of Broadcasters and will be held September 10–12 in Indianapolis.