Will air BBC World Service content in English to southwest Europe and North African coast
 The map shows planned coverage of a DRM broadcast to take place during the DRM General Assembly, April 17–18.

 The map shows planned coverage of a DRM broadcast to take place during the DRM General Assembly, April 17–18.

The Digital Radio Mondiale consortium has announced that a special DRM transmission of BBC World Service content in English will take place during its upcoming General Assembly held in Palma de Mallorca, Spain on April 17–18.

Broadcast on 11970 kHz from 10–11 a.m. GMT (12–1 p.m. CET) and on 13845 kHz from 11 a.m.–12 p.m. GMT (1–2 p.m. CET), Babcock International will relay the transmission to areas of southwest Europe and part of the North African coast.

[Read: Can Digital Save Medium Wave?]

In addition, Bulgarian transmission provider Spaceline will also broadcast via DRM during the event on April 18 from Kostinbrod, Bulgaria. Using an antenna directed at 260 degrees, the broadcast will take place from 12–2 p.m. GMT (2–4 p.m. CET) on 11600 kHz and will feature content from Mighty KBC.

The General Assembly is where the strategy and working plan for the next year is set for DRM. This year’s event will also serve as an election year for the chairman and all leading bodies of the Consortium. The project office will issue a call to members who wish to register interest in serving on the Steering Board and/or occupy other DRM positions.

[Want more information like this? Subscribe to our newsletter and get it delivered right to your inbox]

The 2018 edition will take place at the Palma Bellver Bay Meliá Hotel on Mallorca. For more information, visit www.drm.org.

Related