Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Georgia Set to Honor State’s Leading Broadcast Engineers

Nominations are due August 1 for the 2023 Angelo Ditty – Frank McLemore Engineering Award

Nominations are now being accepted for a key engineering award from the Georgia Association of Broadcasters (GAB). 

The 2023 Angelo Ditty – Frank McLemore Engineering Award was created to honor dedicated Georgia broadcasters that have gone above and beyond the call of duty in serving their communities. Those who are nominated for the award must meet a series of criteria that includes a dedication to professionalism, a strong willingness to help other engineers in support of the broadcast industry, and experience of at least 20 years as a broadcast engineer (with the majority of that time spent in Georgia).

The award was named posthumously after Angelo Ditty, a former FCC Inspector and later the Georgia Association of Broadcaster’s ABIP inspector, and Frank McLemore, the organization’s ABIP inspector for several years. 

“What makes this award unique and special is after the second year, we basically turned the … process over to the recipients of the award,” said Bob Houghton, president of the GAB. While any GAB member can nominate an engineer, former winners “participate in the discussion and vote for the eventual nominees.” As in year’s past, the award will be given at the association’s annual GABCON convention, set to be held September 15 and 16 at Jekyll Island, Ga. 

Last year’s winners included both radio and television technologists:

  • Sandy Griffin – WYAY/ABC Capital Cities/WDUN/Jacobs Media
  • John George – GAB ABIP Coordinator
  • Charles Kinney – Radio One Atlanta/Cox Radio Atlanta/Cox Media Group Atlanta
  • C.B. Gaffney – DBC Savannah/Audacy Atlanta
  • Carl “CJ” Jackson – Salem Media Group

Nominations for the award must be submitted by August 1.

[Visit the Radio World Calendar]