Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Halpern, Gaines Elected as Chair, Vice Chair of CPB Board

Halpern, Gaines Elected as Chair, Vice Chair of CPB Board

The CPB board elected Cheryl Halpern and Gay Hart Gaines to one-year terms as chair and vice chair, respectively, of the nine-member board. Halpern’s succession to the chair brings an end to the contentious term of her fellow Republican Kenneth Tomlinson.
In 1990, Halpern was confirmed as a member of the board for international broadcasting and as a director of Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty. From 1995 through 2002, she was on the Broadcasting Board of Governors overseeing VOA Radio and TV Marti, RFE/RL, Worldnet, Radio Free Asia and Radio Free Iraq. In 2002, President Bush appointed her as a CPB director. She is past chairman of the CPB Audit and Finance Committee.
Gaines was named to the board as a recess appointment by Bush in December 2003, and confirmed by the Senate in November 2004 to a term ending in 2010. She is the regent of the Mount Vernon board, where she previously represented the state of Florida as vice regent. She is a member of the American Enterprise Institute, the Heritage Foundation and the Madison Council of the Library of Congress.