Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Beasley Effort to Be Honored in Celebration of Service to America Awards

Winners will be recognized June 11 in Washington

Celebration of Service to America AwardsA PSA campaign, food drive, music festival and a Veteran’s Day fundraiser were recognized by the National Association of Broadcasters Leadership Foundation as top community service efforts made by radio in 2018.

NABLF (formerly the NAB Education Foundation) announced this year’s Celebration of Service to America Award honorees. The 2019 radio winners are:

  • Service to Community Award for Radio — Ownership Group: Beasley Media Group for “Beasley Best Community of Caring” public service announcement network
  • Service to Community Award for Radio — Major Market: Beasley Philadelphia’s WMMR(FM) for “Preston and Steve’s Camp Out for Hunger”
  • Service to Community Award for Radio — Medium Market: ADX Communications of Pensacola, Fla.’s WYCT(FM) for “WYCT Cat Country 98.7 and Santa Rosa Kids House”
  • Service to Community Award for Radio — Small Market: Lenawee Broadcasting Company’s WLEN(FM) of Adrian, Mich., “Thank A Vet”

Also, the Major Market finalists are Bonneville International’s KTAR(FM); Cox Media Group’s WSB(AM); and Cox Media Group’s WEDR, WFLC, WFEZ and WHQT.

Medium Market finalists are Townsquare Media’s WOKQ, WSAK, WPKQ and WSHK.

The Small Market finalists are: Saga Communications’ WDBR(FM) and WLFZ(FM) and Zimmer Radio of Mid-Missouri’s KCLR(FM).

“America’s local radio and television stations have a deeply rooted commitment to public service,” said NABLF President Marcellus Alexander. “This year’s STA winners epitomize broadcasters’ devotion to positively impacting their communities and creating a lasting difference.”

The honorees will be recognized at the Celebration of Service to America dinner, scheduled for June 11 at The Anthem in Washington. The event is sponsored and produced by NABLF with support from the National Association of Broadcasters, Bonneville International and Hearst Television.