Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


IEEE BTS Honors Technology Innovators

Ben Dawson wins Matti M. Siukola Memorial Award for the best paper delivered at the 2013 symposium

This article originally appeared in TV Technology.

The IEEE Broadcast Technology Society has announced the winners of the Matti M. Siukola Memorial Award for their outstanding technology contributions to the broadcast industry. The award recipients were honored at the recently concluded 2014 IEEE Broadcast Symposium, held in San Antonio. The IEEE BTS has also announced that the 2015 Broadcast Symposium will take place Oct. 13–16 at the Caribe Royale in Orlando, Fla.

During a luncheon, hosted jointly by the IEEE BTS and Texas Association of Broadcasters, the society presented the Matti M. Siukola Memorial Award for the best paper delivered at the 2013 Symposium. The award was tied between two winners: Benjamin Dawson of Hatfield & Dawson and Timothy B. Terriberry of Mozilla Corp. The winners were presented with engraved plaques.

Co-chaired by Roz Clark of Cox Media Group and Guy Buchard of CBC Technology, the 2014 IEEE Broadcast Symposium provided attendees with a comprehensive lineup of educational content. The event kicked off with a tutorial session on broadcast distribution infrastructures that explored system architecture and the evolution of SDI standards and copper/fiber-optic interface considerations. Other popular sessions covered green energy, RF radiation exposure to workers, ATSC 3.0, and regulatory issues impacting the international broadcast spectrum.

The IEEE BTS will continue to build upon the success of its annual Broadcast Symposium in 2015 by hosting the event in the popular travel destination, Orlando. Visit the IEEE BTS for more information.