Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


NAB Accepting Nominations for 2013 Engineering Achievement Awards

Candidates will be evaluated based on their contributions to broadcast industry

The NAB is now accepting nominations for the 2013 NAB Engineering Achievement Awards. Winners will be recognized at the Technology Luncheon at 2013 NAB Show on April 10 in Las Vegas.

Last year’s winners were Paul Brenner, SVP and CTO, Emmis Communications, for radio and Glenn Reitmeier, NBC Universal, for television.

The NAB Engineering Achievement Award was established in 1959 and is presented each year to an individual for their outstanding accomplishments in the broadcast industry. Since 1991 there have been separate awards for radio and television.

The NAB explains that “Candidates for the Radio Engineering Achievement Award must be or have been an owner, officer or employee of any company, subsidiary or division whose primary business is broadcasting or directly supports broadcasting, including employees of the federal government directly engaged in broadcast engineering work.”

A release explained that the “candidates for the Engineering Achievement Awards will be evaluated on the basis of a single significant contribution or multiple contributions made over a period of time that, taken together, have significantly advanced the state of the art of broadcast engineering.”

It listed the following categories: inventions, development of new techniques, dissemination of technical knowledge and literature, leadership in broadcast engineering affairs or an an outstanding contribution, which, in the opinion of the NAB Executive Committee, warrants consideration.

The NAB Executive Committee will select the award winners. Recent winners from the radio industry include: Robert du Treil of Lundin and Rackey, Steve Church of Telos Systems, Jack Sellmeyer of Sellmeyer Engineering and Thomas B. Silliman of Electronics Research Inc.

The nomination form is available on NAB’s website. The deadline for nominations is Jan. 21, 2013.

Brenner Pushes the User Experience