Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


NAB Names Its Recent New Members

A half-dozen noncoms are among stations joining

The National Association of Broadcasters announced the signing of several broadcast groups and stations as members.

Local TV LLC is owner of 19 network-affiliated television stations; it formed in 2007. Markets include Denver, Cleveland and Oklahoma City.

Radio and television station groups that have joined recently, according to the announcement, include Barry Broadcasting, Bois Forte Band of Chippewa, Caledonia Communications, Cameron Broadcasting, Cocola Broadcasting, Delta Broadcasting, Elko Broadcasting, Lake Cumberland Broadcasters, Mountain Valley Broadcasting, Parkin Broadcasting, Perry Broadcasting and WENK of Union City.

Several independently owned stations have joined including KKLN(FM), Willmar, Minn.; KKWB(FM), Kelliher, Minn.; KKBS(FM), Guymon, Okla.; and KRDH(AM), Canton, Texas.

Non-commercial stations joining NAB include WCNI(FM), New London, Conn; WBIY(FM), Hialeah, Fla.; WLCA(FM), Godfrey, Ill.; KKJM(FM), Sauk Rapids, Minn.; KNMI(FM), Farmington, N.M.; and WAMU(FM), Washington.

The association did not immediately reply to a request for comparative figures or current membership totals. NAB in the past has declined to quote such totals. The association told Radio World 10 months ago that it had lost a “modest number” of members during the earlier advertising recession but had made “significant strides in getting the numbers closer to where we were several years ago,” and at that time it expected more groups would be joining NAB as the economy improved.