Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


CPB Honors Its Chair Bruce Ramer

It recognizes his contributions to public media

headshot of Bruce RamerThe Corporation for Public Broadcasting named Bruce Ramer to receive its Lifetime Achievement Award, recognizing his outstanding contributions to public media.

“Ramer, a Los Angeles attorney, is the longest-serving member of the CPB Board and its longest-serving board chair,” the organization said in the announcement.

“He led CPB through some of its most challenging years, including the Great Recession and the global pandemic. He played a pivotal role in establishing the American Archive of Public Broadcasting, which is restoring, preserving and archiving historic public media content for future generations.”

CPB President/CEO Patricia Harrison cited Ramer for “his extraordinary leadership and guidance given to CPB over the nearly 14 years of his service.”

CPB noted that during his tenure, it was able to distribute $75 million in American Rescue Plan Act funding and $175 million in CARES Act stabilization funding to public media stations, “many of which stepped up to provide life-saving news and information and at-home educational services.”

Ramer is a partner at Gang, Tyre, Ramer, Brown and Passman, a law firm specializing in entertainment and media matters. He joined the CPB Board in 2008 after being appointed by the second President Bush and confirmed by the Senate. He was reappointed by Presidents Obama and Trump.

Past recipients of the CPB Lifetime Achievement Award include David Pryor, David Fanning, Newton Minow and Jim Lehrer.

[Update: On Oct. 13, the CPB board elected Laura G. Ross to succeed Ramer.]