Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


SBE Announces Ennes Scholarship Recipients

Five rising technologists will receive $2,500 each

Don’t tell this crowd that there aren’t young people out there who are interested in broadcast technology.

The Society of Broadcast Engineers announced that the Ennes Educational Foundation Trust has awarded five scholarships for 2021.

They are given to individuals interested in continuing or beginning an education in broadcast engineering and technology. Each recipient this year receives $2,500. The choices were announced by SBE President Andrea Cummis.

From left: Ismail Otu, Michael Cassara, Zachary Cameron, Christopher Gamelin and Meredith Frank

The Harold E. Ennes Scholarship recipient is Ismail Otu, CRO, CTO, a graduate of the Broadcasting Production Technology Program at Central Piedmont Community College in Charlotte, N.C. SBE said he plans to attend the Cleveland Institute of Electronics and major in broadcast engineering/wireless communication electronics.

[Visit Radio World’s People News Page]

The Robert D. Greenberg Scholarship recipient is Michael Cassara, who is in his sophomore year of studying computer engineering at the University of Pittsburgh.

The John H. Battison SBE Founder’s Scholarship is awarded to Zachary Cameron, who is attending Ball State University in Muncie, Ind., studying telecommunications.

The Gino Ricciardelli Scholarship goes to Christopher Gamelin, who has worked at iHeartMedia and Entercom Communications and now is a maintenance technician with WFSB(TV), where he has worked on remote broadcasts and continues to expand his electronics knowledge.

And the Youth Scholarship goes to Meredith Frank, who will pursue her interest in live TV production at Hofstra University, working on a degree in television production and studies.

The Harold Ennes Scholarship Fund Trust was started by Indianapolis Chapter 25 in 1980 in memory of Harold E. Ennes. Administration was taken over by the national SBE in 1981, and the name of the trust was changed in 1995 to the Harold Ennes Educational Foundation Trust.

Send your people news to [email protected].