Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


NABLF Honors Broadcast Service

Here’s who took home the honors in the Celebration of Service to America

A one-hour production of the “Celebration of Service to America Awards” ceremony will be available to air on U.S. broadcast stations in July and August.

The National Association of Broadcasters Leadership Foundation held its gala in person this week at The Anthem in Washington. The awards recognize broadcasters’ outstanding service to their communities.

Beasley Media Group received the “Service to Community Award for Radio, Broadcast Ownership Group,” while Cox Media Group received it for the TV side.

The “Service to Community Award for Radio” for large and major markets went to Urban One station WTLC(FM) in Indianapolis for its “Feeding Families for 365 Days Plus” campaign. The TV honor went to Tegna’s WFAA in Dallas.

The service award for radio in a medium market went to Beasley’s WJBR(FM) in Wilmington, Del., while the TV award was given to Gray Television’s WIS in Columbia, S.C.

[Visit Radio World’s News and Business Page]

For small markets, the radio service award went to ADX Communications stations WNRP, WYCT and WEBY Radio, Pensacola, Fla., and the TV award to California Oregon Broadcasting’s KOBI in Medford, Ore.

Former NAB President/CEO Gordon Smith was honored with the Service to America Samaritan Award. Among the reasons was the launch of the OK2Talk campaign to educate Americans on the importance of ending the stigma surrounding mental health issues. And after Hurricane Marie in 2017, he led a coalition of organizations to distribute 10,000 battery-operated radios to residents of Puerto Rico. 

José Andrés and Patti LaBelle received Service to America Leadership Awards, and GEICO was honored with the Corporate Leadership Award.

José Andrés speaking at the NABLF gala. (Photo via NAB)