Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


NAB Foundation Honors Broadcasters’ Commitment to Service

The 2022 Celebration of Service to America special will air nationwide

The celebration of Service to America Awards are on the air.

Running until August 13, the one-hour television and radio special – presented by the National Association of Broadcasters Leadership Foundation – celebrates and honors local broadcasters’ commitment to public service in the communities they serve. 

Two radio stations were finalists for the 2022 small-market Service to Community Award including KTXY(FM) for its Miracle for Kids Radiothon” and Pensacola, Fla., stations WNRP (AM), WYCT (FM), WNRP(AM) and WEBY(AM) radio for the program “Next Level COVID Charts.” Medium-sized market station finalists include KRMG(FM) for “Big Spring Clean,” WHKO(FM) for “WHKO Service to America” and WJBR(FM) for the “Mix 99.5 WJBR Help Our Kids Radiothon.” Large-market station finalists include WSB(AM) in Atlanta for the “WSB Care-a-thon,” the WTLC(FM) program “Feeding Families for 365 Days Plus” and the WTOP(FM) program “WTOP D.C. DFS Investigation.”

[Visit Radio World’s News and Business Page]

The foundation also named Beasley Media Group as the 2022 broadcast ownership award winner. 

The awards were originally announced and presented to winning broadcast radio and TV stations at a gala held in Washington, D.C. in June. The Service to America Leadership Awards, the foundation’s highest honor, were presented to chef and humanitarian Jose Andres as well as author and entertainer and entrepreneur Patti LaBelle.

The one-hour program will be airing on more than 700 local stations across the country.