Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


RTDNA Recognizes 2014 National Murrow Awards Winners

The Radio Television Digital News Association has announced the winners of the 2014 National Edward R. Murrow Awards, which recognize outstanding work produced by radio, television and online news organizations.

This year, RTDNA awarded 98 national Edward R. Murrow Awards in 13 categories. RTDNA received more than 4,000 entries during the 2014 awards season, setting an all-time record for entries.

In the network radio division, ABC News Radio won the Edward R. Murrow Award for Overall Excellence, their first in eight years. It has been more than 20 years since ABC News has brought home Overall Excellence awards for both radio and television in the same year. ABC News Radio also won an award for Breaking News.

For the sixth consecutive year, National Public Radio took home the award for best network radio website. NPR won two additional awards for Investigative Reporting and News Series.

CBS Radio News won three awards in the same division: Continuing Coverage, Newscast and Writing.

Studio 360/WNYC/PRI (Feature Reporting), State of the Re:Union (News Documentary), American Public Media (Hard News), ESPN (Sports Reporting), and New York Public Radio/PRI (Use of Sound ) each won one award.

This year’s Small Market Radio division winner was Arizona Public Radio’s KNAU(FM), earned honors in both News Series and Writing for “Building Hope In Haiti: Flagstaff Responds To Humanitarian Crisis.”

To receive an Overall Excellence award, a news organization must exemplify the highest standards in quality electronic or digital journalism. This year’s winners are:

● ABC News (network television)
● ABC News Radio (network radio)
● The Washington Post (large online news)
● The Texas Tribune (small online news)
● WCVB(TV), Boston (television, large market)
● WBIR(TV), Knoxville, Tenn. (television, small market)
● WBEZ(FM), Chicago (radio, large market)
● WDEL(FM), Wilmington, Del. (radio, small market)

National awards will be presented Oct. 6 at the New York Marriott Marquis.