Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


David to Receive National Radio Award

Long-serving NAB officer feted at Radio Luncheon

A familiar face to many, John David will receive the National Radio Award at the Radio Luncheon, Sept. 26 at the Radio Show in Orlando, Fla.

NAB President and CEO Gordon Smith said, “The entire broadcast radio community has benefitted enormously over the years from John David’s dedication, knowledge and his one-of-a-kind sense of humor. … He is the consummate radio broadcaster and his service to radio makes him well-deserving of this honor.”

David became senior advisor to NAB on Feb. 1 after stepping down from his day-to-day role as the association’s executive vice president of radio. According to the group David continues to be engaged with key radio initiatives. He provides special emphasis and insight to those projects of key importance to NAB’s membership.

Named EVP of radio in 1998, David was NAB’s liaison for membership and service to NAB member radio stations. He also oversaw radio sessions at the NAB Show in Las Vegas and the Radio Show, and radio awards programs including the National Radio Award, the NAB Crystal Radio Awards and the NAB Marconi Radio Awards.

[Read: NAB Radio EVP David Plans to Step Into Advisory Role]

He joined NAB in 1989 as vice president of NAB Broadcaster Congressional Relations. He was responsible for state broadcaster associations, the NAB political action committee and the legislative liaison committee for grass roots lobbying before becoming senior vice president of NAB Radio in 1992.

In the past, he has represented Kansas and Missouri as a member of the NAB Radio Board, along with being a past president of the Missouri Broadcasters Association, a recipient of Missouri’s Distinguished Broadcaster Award, and is a member of both the Oklahoma and Missouri broadcasters’ Hall of Fame.

The National Radio Award honors an individual who is an outstanding leader in the radio industry. The award recipient is selected by the NAB Radio Executive Committee.

[Want more information like this? Subscribe to our newsletter and get it delivered right to your inbox.]