Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Caroline Beasley to Receive National Radio Award

NAB will salute her at the fall Radio Show

Caroline Beasley

Caroline Beasley will receive the National Radio Award this October.

The CEO of Beasley Media Group will be honored during the opening session of the Radio Show on Wednesday Oct. 13.

Six years ago her father George was honored with the same award.

In its very early years, the award tended to be given to on-air talent; Howard Cosell, Larry King and Gary Owens were the first recipients.

But it evolved to an honor usually given to radio executives. Last year’s recipient was Russell M. Perry; past recipients have included Lowry Mays, Jeff Smulyan, Ginny Morris and Mary Quass. A few recipients have served radio in other ways such as Erica Farber and John David.

A full list appears below.

NAB President/CEO Gordon Smith saluted Caroline Beasley for her “business savvy and extraordinary leadership” and “her passion for radio.”

Beasley joined the company that was founded by her father in 1983 and rose to be named CEO in 2017. But she also has a highly visible presence in the commercial U.S. radio industry more broadly. She is chair of the BMI Board of Directors and a member of the FCC Diversity and Inclusion Committee and the NAB Leadership Foundation Board of Directors.

She is immediate past chair of the Joint Board of the NAB and a former NAB Radio Board Chair.

George Beasley received the award in 2015.

The Radio Show is co-produced by the Radio Advertising Bureau and the National Association of Broadcasters. This year it will be co-located with NAB Show in October in Las Vegas.

Recipients of the National Radio Award:

2021 Caroline Beasley
2020 Russell M. Perry
2019 Mary Quass
2018 John David
2017 David Field
2016 Don Benson
2015 George Beasley
2014 Bayard “Bud” Walters
2013 Ginny Morris
2012 Dan Mason
2011 Steve Newberry
2010 Charles Warfield
2009 Ed Christian
2008 Bruce Reese
2007 Jerry Lee
2006 David Kennedy
2005 John Dille
2004 Clarke Brown
2003 Erica Farber
2002 Dick Ferguson
2001 Larry Wilson
2000 Jeff Smulyan
1999 Bill Stakelin
1998 Lowry Mays
1997 Mel Karmazin
1996 Ed McLaughlin
1995 Nancy Widmann
1994 Dick Harris
1993 Ted Snider
1992 Martin Beck
1991 Bill Clark
1990 Robert Hyland
1989 Ray Livesay
1988 Ben Hoberman
1987 Douglas Edwards
1986 Gary Owens
1985 Larry King
1984 Howard Cosell