Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Wisconsin Broadcasters Hall of Fame 2016 Class Set

Association to induct four from radio and television within the state

The 2016 class to the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame has been announced. The inductees consist of four broadcasters from both radio and television who made an impact in the state of Wisconsin as broadcast pioneers.

The class list includes Larry “Rock” McCarren — whose 28-year career in television and sports broadcasting began after his tenure with the Green Bay Packers as a center — his résumé consists of a 24-year stint as an anchor and sports director of Green Bay based WFRV(TV), a game analyst for 21 years at WTMJ radio in Milwaukee and the Green Bay Packers Radio Network and is currently a analyst and host for two shows produced by the Packers Media Group.

Another 2016 inductee, Aline Watson Hazard (1895–1981) — who had a 32-year career as the host of the “Homemakers’ Program” for more than 10,000 episodes starting in 1933 — drew an appreciative following by entertaining and informing listeners. Her broadcasts were some of the earliest remote broadcasts in the state of Wisconsin.

The third inductee, Chuck Roth, has an extensive résumé in the administrative side of broadcasting. For 20 years he was the vice president and general manager for WQOW and WXOW(TV) in La Crosse before moving into a corporate role for the station’s parent company, Quincy Media, as director of business administration. He’s served the WBA directly by sitting on the board of directors from 1992–2002, and chairman in 2000.

The final inductee, Lindsay Wood Davis, started his broadcasting career at age 17 in sales at his family-owned radio station in Port Washington, WGLB Radio. He’s worn many hats in the broadcast industry, serving as a general manager, group executive, a station owner, consultant and mentor to hundreds of young broadcasters, the association said. Davis is most noted for the systems and processes he’s created to manage local radio stations — something now echoed by U.S. and foreign broadcast operators for managing their own properties.

With these four new inductees, the list of WBA Hall of Famers will now consist of 136 members. The 2016 class will be inducted on June 23 at the WBA Summer Conference at the Radisson Hotel & Convention Center in La Crosse, Wis.