Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


KDKA Presented With 2023 World Radio Day Award

Award program helps raise awareness of World Radio Day in the United States

Pittsburgh radio station KDKA was presented with the 2023 World Radio Day award on Feb. 14. Originally announced by the Academy of Radio Arts and Sciences of America in early January, the award honors a U.S. station that exemplifies the best attributes of the radio industry.

Recognized as the oldest licensed radio station in America, news/talk station KDKA can be heard at 100.1 FM and 1020 AM.

World Radio Day is celebrated annually on Feb. 13 in commemoration of the birth of United Nations Radio in 1946. This official international day was adopted by the 67th United Nations General Assembly in 2012. This year, the theme for the 12th edition of World Radio Day was “Radio and Peace.”

The award was presented to KDKA’s Senior Vice President and Market Manager Michael Spacciapolli and David LaBrozzi, KDKA brand manager for Audacy Pittsburgh.

“This distinguished honor underscores not only KDKA’s unwavering commitment to delivering premier news coverage to the Pittsburgh communities, but the individuals who work tirelessly each and every day to make it happen,” said Michael Spacciapolli. “We’re proud to join the list of iconic heritage brands that represent the very best the radio industry has to offer.”

Academy of Radio Arts and Sciences of America Radio Day Award presented to KDKA Pittsburgh. (L-R) Josh Miely, NAB Director Member Experience, Dave LaBrozzi, Brand Manager KDKA, Michael Spacciapolli, Senior Vice President and Market Manager Audacy Pittsburgh and McVay Media President Mike McVay

KDKA was preceded in winning the award by Audacy sister station 1010 WINS in New York, which received it last year. Other previous winners include WRHU at Hofstra University on Long Island and the inaugural winner, WTOP in Washington, D.C.

Recipients of the annual award may be large or small, commercial or non-commercial, located in any market and broadcasting in any language. Recipients are chosen by a jury, which looks for stations that demonstrate ideals of localism, audience reach, community service, effective use of new digital platforms, diversity in program content and staffing, as well as financial and ratings success. 

Jurors this year included representatives of Fletcher Heald & Hildreth, Radio Ink, The Weiss Agency, Talkers Magazine, McVay Media Consulting, Audacy and Radio World. 

[Sign Up for Radio World’s SmartBrief Newsletter]