Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Agrelot, ‘the Puerto Rican Bob Hope,’ Is Honored by National Radio Hall of Fame

Kalas, Terkel also are posthumous inductees 

The National Radio Hall of Fame has inducted three people posthumously, including the first Hispanic to collect that honor.

Here are the bios as provided direct from the NRHOF:

Jose Miguel Agrelot – The first Hispanic ever inducted into the National Radio Hall of Fame, Agrelot was the most dominant media personality in Puerto Rico until his death in 2004. Known as “The Puerto Rican Bob Hope”, Agrelot developed hundreds of different characters during his radio career, including his best known “Don Cholito”. He started the longest running program in Puerto Rican radio history “Su Tu Alegre Despertar” which aired for over 50 years.

Harry Kalas – A Philadelphia radio icon who began his career in 1961 calling minor league games while he was in the U.S. Army stationed in Hawaii. Kalas made his major league debut in 1965 calling games for the Houston Astros before being hired as the “voice of the Philadelphia Phillies” in 1971. Kalas, who was also the voice of NFL Films, was nicknamed “Harry the K”. Kalas won the hearts of Phillies fans and lived to see his team win the World Series, but collapsed and died on April 13, 2009.

Studs Terkel – The legendary host of his own program on WFMT/Chicago from 1958 to 1998. Terkel was known for his unique interviewing style, which showcased his personal curiosity for the common man as well as the politicians and celebrities who passed his way. An internationally acclaimed personality and best selling author, Terkel was also an inspirational figure and mentor to a younger generation of journalists and literary figures until his death at age 96 on Oct. 31, 2008.

Bruce DuMont is chairman of the steering committee.

A list of nominees in four additional categories will be released later this month, to be followed by online balloting to select the remaining Radio Hall of Fame Class of 2009.