Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Engineers Martin, Shore Are Honored by Michigan Association

MAB also presented Larry Patrick with its Associate of the Year Award.

The Michigan Association of Broadcasters honored two broadcast engineers who have served the industry for 65 years between them.

The Carl Lee Broadcast Engineering Excellence Award winners are Jerrod L. Martin and Lowell Shore.

Jerrod L. Martin is the former director of engineering for WNIC(FM) Detroit, now retired. According to MAB, he began his career as a radio engineer in 1946, assisting in construction of WKMH(AM) in Dearborn. Accomplishments include supervising the installation and construction of the present-day transmitting facilities of WNIC. Since retiring in 1985, Martin has worked as a consultant and co-authored EAS operating information. He is a life member of the Society of Broadcast Engineers and Certified Senior Broadcast Engineer.

Lowell Shore, chief engineer of WWTV/WWUP(TV) in Cadillac and Traverse City, joined WWTV as a staff engineer in August 1960. In 1976 he became chief engineer of WWUP(TV), Sault Ste. Marie, and WKJF(FM) and WWAM(AM) in Cadillac. Achievements include supervising the transition to digital broadcasting at the TV facilities in Cadillac and Sault Ste. Marie.

The Engineering Excellence Awards were presented during MAB’s Great Lakes Broadcasting Conference and Expo in Grand Rapids. MAB created the award to honor the career of Carl Lee, a broadcast engineer who served as GM and president of Fetzer Broadcasting, and was president of MAB in 1956.

MAB also presented Larry Patrick of Patrick Communications with its Associate of the Year Award at the Great Lakes Broadcasting Conference and Expo.

Patrick is president of Patrick Communications, a media brokerage and investment banking firm, and also owns Legend Communications, a radio group owner with 16 radio stations. He has sold more than 60 television stations and 300 radio stations.

Patrick is chairman of the board of directors of Ion Media Networks, a 62-television station group. He is a former senior VP of the NAB; past president of the Broadcast Education Association; and current president of the National Association of Media Brokers.