Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


SBE Elects Andrea Cummis as Next President

She will be the first woman to hold that post

Andrea CummisAndrea Cummis will be the next president of the Society of Broadcast Engineers, the first woman to hold that office.

SBE announced the results of its 2021 election for its national board of directors.

Cummis, CBT, CTO, is the chief technical officer of PBS39 WLVT(TV), in Bethlehem, Pa. and a member of SBE Chapter 15 in New York City.

She was unopposed in the election and will take office on Oct. 11. Cummis succeeds Wayne Pecena, who served two terms and remains on the board as immediate past president. (A list of all past presidents appears below.)

Others who will serve one-year terms as officers are Ted Hand as vice president, Kevin Trueblood as secretary and Jason Ornellas as treasurer.

Elected to two-year terms on the board of directors are Zhulieta Ibisheva, Jeff Juniet, Charles “Ched” Keiler, Geary S. Morrill, David Ratener and Dan Whealy.

Now going into their second year of current terms are Stephen Brown, Roswell Clark, Kirk Harnack, Thomas McGinley, Shane Toven and Fred Willard.

[Related: “Online Resources Blossom at SBE,” a 2020 Q&A with Wayne Pecena]

Cummis has more than two decades of experience in engineering, operations and new technology, and has worked in television, radio and new media.

She has been the chief technical officer of WLVT in Bethlehem, Pa., since 2017. In addition, she and her husband Renard Fiscus own AC Video Solutions, a systems design and integration firm. Their customers include Christian Faith Network, New Jersey Performing Arts Center, All Mobile Video, M&T Bank, and Raritan Valley Community College.

She holds degrees in electrical engineering and in law and technology, and has an MBA as well.

The society’s National Meeting and Awards Presentation will be held Oct. 11 during in Las Vegas during the NAB Show.

SBE Presidents List

Andrea Cummis 2021-

Wayne Pecena 2019-2021

Jim Leifer 2017-2019

Jerry Massey 2015-2017

Joe Snelson 2013-2015

Ralph Hogan 2011-2013

Vincent Lopez 2009-2011

Barry Thomas 2007-2009

Christopher H. Scherer 2005-2007

Raymond C. Benedict 2003-2005

Troy D. Pennington 2001-2003

James “Andy” Butler 1999-2001

Edward J. Miller 1997-1999

Terrence M. Baun 1995-1997

Charles W. Kelly Jr. 1993-1995

Richard Farquhar 1991-1993

Bradley Dick 1989-1991

Jack McKain 1987-1989

Richard Rudman 1985-1987

Roger Johnson 1984-1985

Doyle Thompson, Sr. 1983-1984

Ron Arendall 1981-1983

Robert Jones 1979-1981

James Hurley 1978-1979

Robert Wehrman   1977-1978

Glen Lahman   1975-1977

James Wulliman 1973-1975

Robert Flanders 1971-1973

Lewis Wetzel 1970-1971

Al Chismark   1968-1970

Charles Hallinan 1966-1968

John Battison, P.E. 1965-1966