Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


WLTL Is Named Best High School Station

John Drury Awards recognize excellence in high school radio

WLTL, Lyons Township High School
Kaylee Good is one of the hosts and student management leaders at WLTL Radio.

Illinois’ WLTL Radio has been named Best High School Radio Station in a program that recognizes excellence in high school radio broadcasting.

The John Drury High School Radio Awards are named in honor of ABC-Chicago news anchor John Drury. They are presented by North Central College and WONC Radio in Naperville, Ill.

WLTL Radio at Lyons Township High School in La Grange, Ill., has won numerous awards in this program in the past, and in 2020 it was named to the top award during an online ceremony. It also won in individual categories for news feature story, specialty music program, on-air promotion, social media campaign and best website.

John Drury AwardsWLTL Radio is a student-run volunteer station that launched in 1968. It celebrates its history and its alumni at

Chris Thomas is faculty advisor and general manager. “Despite everything that 2020 has thrown at our students, they still did their best to produce quality content and entertaining programming for our community listening on 88.1 FM and streaming around the globe on, and today’s honors recognize their hard work and dedication. I am immensely proud of them,” Thomas said in a press release.

Read the list of nominees.