Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Jerry Lewis to Receive NAB Distinguished Service Award

National Association of Broadcasters recognizes broadcasters who have made contributions

The National Association of Broadcasters will recognize entertainer and humanitarian Jerry Lewis with its NAB Distinguished Service Award during the 2015 NAB Show.

Lewis will accept the award at the opening keynote session on April 13 in Las Vegas, at the Westgate. The NAB Show Opening will also include the “State of the Broadcast Industry” address by NAB President and CEO Gordon Smith. The event will be sponsored by Blackmagic Design.

“Jerry Lewis’ slapstick brand of comedy has entertained audiences for decades, and his contributions to the entertainment industry are immeasurable,” said NAB President and CEO Gordon Smith in a press release from the organization. “We are honored to recognize not only his comedic innovation, but also his remarkable philanthropic efforts that have bettered the lives of thousands of children.”

Lewis has appeared in more than 50 films, 13 television specials, three television series, an NBC radio show and the Broadway hit “Damn Yankees.” Examples of his films include “The Nutty Professor,” “The Disorderly Orderly” and “The Ladies Man.” Additionally, Lewis has authored four books, been the hero of a comic book series and recorded numerous records.

Lewis has two stars on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, the Governor’s Award at the Emmy Awards, a Career Achievement Award from the Los Angeles Film Critics Association, and a Lifetime Achievement Award in Comedy at the American Comedy Awards, among others.

Lewis is the national chairman of the Muscular Dystrophy Association. Over his long association he has raised over $2 billion for patient care and research and helped to coin the popular phrase “Jerry’s Kids.” Also, Lewis founded the MDA Labor Day Telethon, which is the highest-grossing charitable fundraising program in the history of television.

Lewis currently resides in Las Vegas and continues to make entertainment appearances, in addition to developing projects for television, film, DVD and stage.

Each year, the NAB DSA recognizes members of the broadcast community who have made significant contributions to broadcasting. Previous recipients include Jorge Ramos, Bob Schieffer, Michael J. Fox, Mary Tyler Moore, Pres. Ronald Reagan, Edward R. Murrow, Bob Hope, Walter Cronkite, Oprah Winfrey and Charles Osgood.