Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Mary Tyler Moore to Receive Service Award

NAB cites her broadcast and charitable contributions

Once upon a time, Mary Tyler Moore and Bob Newhart were television staples on CBS on Saturday nights. Next month they’ll be honored a few hours apart during the NAB Show.

We already knew Newhart will be inducted into the NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame at Monday’s Television Luncheon. This week NAB announced that Moore will receive the NAB Distinguished Service Award earlier that morning.

The multiple Emmy Award-winner, popular for portrayals as Laura Petrie in “The Dick Van Dyke Show” and Mary Richards in her “Mary Tyler Moore Show,” was a force in television beyond her acting. Along with husband Grant Tinker, she built MTM Enterprises, one of the most successful production companies in TV history.

MTM was known for its high-quality and often highly-rated programs. Out of that stable came “Rhoda,” “Phyllis” and “Lou Grant” (all spin-offs from “The Mary Tyler Moore Show”) along with originals such as “WKRP in Cincinnati,” “The White Shadow,” “Hill Street Blues,” “Remington Steele” and “St. Elsewhere.” There are a lot of Emmy Award winners and nominees in that list.

Also part of the MTM empire were both Newhart shows.

David K. Rehr, CEO of the NAB, stated: “Mary Tyler Moore is a television icon who not only entertained millions of Americans week after week with her quick humor and amazing talent, but inspired many women of her generation to pursue careers in broadcasting, journalism and related fields.” Moore has also garnered a Tony Award for her role in “Whose Life Is It Anyway?”

Moore is active in charities involving diabetes, animal welfare and arts and academics scholarships; she suffers from diabetes. She will receive her award during the All Industry Opening Keynote, April 20.

She joins good company. Previous Distinguished Service Award winners include Edward R. Murrow, Bob Hope, Walter Cronkite, Charles Osgood, Oprah Winfrey and Pres. Ronald Reagan.