Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


McVay, Jones Are Named Broadcasting Giants

Seven people will be added to the honor roll in November

Consultant Mike McVay and tech executive Steve Jones are the latest radio industry figures to be named “Giants of Broadcasting & Electronic Arts” by the Library of American Broadcasting Foundation.

An awards ceremony each November celebrates innovators and trailblazers in media. Proceeds from the event support of the Library of American Broadcasting collection, which is curated at the University of Maryland. LABF has honored more than 250 people since 2003.

Mike McVay is president of consulting firm McVay Media and a former programming executive for Cumulus Media and Westwood One. He was a founding partner in the company now called Futuri, an original investor in Edison Research and co-creator with Delilah Renee of the nationally syndicated show “Delilah.” He has programmed in numerous markets including Los Angeles and has owned owned radio stations in Florida, Hawaii and Michigan. 

Steve Jones (left) and Mike McVay

Steve Jones is president and CEO of Skyview Networks, which he joined in 2019 and where he has led significant growth in its affiliates. He joined ABC News in 1986 and was an early digital leader for; he roses to VP and general manager for ABC Radio at Disney.

Also named as Giants for 2024 are Al Roker of “Today,” actress Christine Baranski, broadcast owner Patsy Smullin of California Oregon Broadcasting Inc.; TV sports host Stephen A. Smith; and Wendy McMahon of CBS News and CBS Media Ventures.

Last year’s honorees included radio figures Caroline Beasley, David Kennedy and Nina Totenberg. Bios of this year’s recipients are posted on the foundation website, as is a list of all past recipients.

[Sign Up for Radio World’s SmartBrief Newsletter]