Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Pennington Re-Elected SBE President

Pennington Re-Elected SBE President

Troy Pennington has been re-elected SBE president. Pennington is a veteran broadcast engineer with Birmingham, Ala. stations WZZK(FM), WODL(FM) and WBPT(FM). He has previously served SBE at the national level as a member of the board from 1991 through 1999, serving as a director, treasurer and vice president. He is a senior member of SBE and is certified at the senior radio engineer level and also as a certified broadcast networking technologist.
Pennington is a member of the SBE Certification Committee and is a long-time member of Chapter 68 in Birmingham, having twice served as its chairman. He is co-chair of the Alabama Emergency Communications Committee and a member of the President’s National Advisory Council to the National Emergency Alert System.
Other officers elected to one-year terms include: Vice President – Raymond Benedict, director spectrum management, Viacom, Inc., Washington; Secretary – Sam Garfield, vice president, Technical Broadcast Consultants, Raleigh, N.C.; Treasurer – John Batson, regional engineering manager, Sinclair Broadcast Group, Birmingham, Al.
The following members were elected to two-year terms on the national Board of Directors: Ted Hand, director of engineering, WTKR-TV, Norfolk, Va.; Mark Humphrey, chief engineer, WPLY-FM/Radio One, Media, Pa.; Keith Kintner, assistant director of technology, WILL AM-FM-TV, Urbana, Il.; Vincent Lopez, systems technician, WSYT/WNYS-TV, Syracuse, N.Y.; Thomas Ray, III, corporate director of engineering, Buckley Broadcasting/WOR Radio, New York, N.Y. and Barry Thomas, president, Thomas Media Systems & Design, Hollywood, Calif.
Those elected will join six other members of the board who will begin the second year of their two-year terms. They include: Ralph Beaver, president/COO, Media Alert, Inc., Tampa, Fla.; William Denne, account manager, TV Industry, Tektronix, Ormond Beach, Fla.; Donald Driskell, technical services supervisor, Mississippi Educational Television, Jackson, Miss.; Clay Freinwald, senior facilities engineer, Entercom, Seattle; Robert “R.J.” Russell, manager, technical services, DIRECTTV-Los Angeles Broadcast Center, Los Angeles and Conrad Trautmann, III, senior vice president of engineering, Westwood One, New York.
The newly elected officers and directors will be inducted on Oct. 17 during the SBE annual membership meeting in Phoenix. The meeting is part of the SBE national meeting, held in conjunction with the SBE Chapter 9 Regional Convention.