Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


New Members Inducted into the National Black Radio Hall of Fame

Awards recognize contributions to African-American radio

National Black Radio Hall of FameThe National Black Radio Hall of Fame has inducted more than 35 individuals and groups into its hall of fame roll.

Combining the 2020 and 2021 inductees into one class, these individuals are being recognized for the impact they’ve had on radio and in the wider community. The nonprofit organization, which was established in 2010, recognizes the contributions of personalities and pioneers of African-American radio.

The awards honor individuals in several categories including Community Service Artist of the Year, Gospel Radio Personality and the National Terrestrial Talk Radio Award. The awards also recognize individuals through the National Black Radio Hall of Fame Posthumous Award. This year that award was given to six individuals for their contribution to radio including former Baton Rouge radio host Guy Brody, radio host Yvonne Daniel who was part of the first all-female team on WSDM(FM) in Indiana, and Martha Jean “The Queen” Steinberg who cultivated a 48-year career as a Detroit R&B DJ and station owner.

Other awards include the Lifetime Media Achievement Award given to Joe Madison, known as “The Black Eagle,” who served as a talk radio host and civil rights activist who broke the Guinness World Record for longest talk show marathon when he stayed on the air 52 hours to raise funds for the Smithsonian. Talk show hosts Joyce Littel and Derek Boazman were also honored as were House Music Pioneer Award winners Bobby Holiday and Requaya Ward.

The complete list of 2020 and 2021 winners can be found below.

In addition to recognizing Black voices and promoting the historical perspective of African-Americans in national radio, the organization also offers educational and scholarship programs to connect communities to increased higher learning opportunities.

2020/2021 National Black Radio Hall of Fame Inductees:

National Black Radio Hall of Fame Posthumous Award — Guy Broady, Yvonne Daniel, Big George, Burke Johnson, Martha Jean the Queen, Irene Johnson Ware

Radio/Music Career Artist of the Year — Bobby Rush

Community Service Artist of the Year — Tony Terry

Radio Media Specialist Award — Harry Lyles, Lyles Media Group

Lifetime Media Achievement Award — Joe Madison, “The Black Eagle,” the Madison Show

Special Black Radio Original 13 Award Presentation — Given by Jill Gibson for Dorothy Brunson Family, Marshall Thompson the Chi-Lites Willie Martin “Perculator”

African-American Radio Promoter Award — Ted Astin, Arlinda Garrett, Leroy Little

African-American Station Owner Award — Mutter Evans, The Davis Group, Roscoe Miller

Community Service Personality Award — Derrick Chatman, Monica Pearson

Talented Sisters of Radio Award — Carol Blackmon, Shirley Ellis, Renee Miller

Talented Brothers of Radio Award — Mitch Faulkner, Bill Gay, Doug Steele

Gospel Radio Personality Award — Twanda Black, Melissa Summers, Larry Tinsley

Hip Hop Radio Personality Award — Dncredible Freddie Fred, Ryan Cameron, Greg Street

House Music Pioneer Award — Bobby Holiday, Requaya Ward

National Terrestrial Talk Radio Award — Derek Boazman, Joyce Littel