Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


RTDNF Honors Journalists Who Covered Sept. 11 Attacks

With 10th anniversary approaching, foundation looks back

The Radio Television Digital News Foundation will recognize nine journalists for their reporting of the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks, of which the 10th anniversary is approaching.

The 9/11 Tribute Award will be presented at the Annual RTDNF First Amendment Awards Dinner Thursday in Washington. Recipients include:

  • •Martha Raddatz, ABC News Chief Foreign Affairs Correspondent, ABC
  • •Ann Compton, National Correspondent, ABC News Radio
  • •Warren Levinson, AP Correspondent, AP Radio
  • •Byron Pitts, Chief National Correspondent, CBS
  • •Charlie Kaye, Executive Producer, CBS Radio
  • •Jeanne Meserve, CNN Homeland Security Correspondent, CNN
  • •Rick Leventhal, Correspondent, Fox News
  • •Rehema Ellis, NBC News Correspondent, NBC
  • •Melissa Block, Host of “All Things Considered,” NPR

In a press release, RTDNF Chairman Stacey Woelfel stated that the award’s purpose is to shine a spotlight on remarkable work performed by a small group of journalists, “knowing each of them represents hundreds more who worked just as hard to report that story at a time when it was very hard to tell.”

Additional honors will be paid to Hearst Television President and CEO David J. Barrett, CNN anchor Wolf Blitzer and Raycom Media Vice President of News Susana Schuler. They will receive the First Amendment Award, given those in the field of broadcast journalism working on behalf of press freedom.