Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Rudy Van Gelder, Emil Torick to Receive AES Honors

Society announces list of 2009 recipients

Rudy Van Gelder
Recording engineer Rudolph Van Gelder is among those to be honored by the Audio Engineering Society with its Board of Governors Fellowship Award.

He was recognized “for five decades of exceptional recordings of such legendary jazz artists as Miles Davis, John Coltrane and Sonny Rollins.”

Perhaps more familiar to broadcasters, Emil Torick will be saluted with the society’s Distinguished Service Medal Award “in recognition of 50 years of outstanding service to the society, including 25 years as president of the AES Education Foundation.” He’s former VP of audio technology at CBS and president of Broadcast Technology Partners.

Other recipients, with the AES comments:

AES Board of Governors Award:
Jorge R. Urbano Calva: Co-Chair, 2008 Latin American Conference, Mexico City
Toru Kamekawa: Chair, 2005 Japan Regional Convention
Michael C. Kelly: Chair, 2009 35th International “Audio for Games” Conference
Francisco Miranda Kirchner: Co-chair, 2008 Latin American Conference, Mexico City
Andres Mayo: Co-chair, 2007 Latin American Conference, Buenos Aires
Juha Merimaa: Co-chair, 2007 30th International Conference on “Intelligent Audio Environments”
Mercedes Onorato: Co-chair, 2007 Latin American Conference, Buenos Aires
Richard Sanders: Chair, 2008 33rd International Conference on “Audio Forensics —Theory and Practice”

AES Fellowship Award:
Jean-Marc Jot: “For invaluable contributions to the development of spatial sound processing, multi-channel audio coding, and artificial reverberation”
Shawn Murphy: “For outstanding contributions to the craft of recording and mixing of film music, and to the advancement of surround sound experience in cinema”
Ray Rayburn: “For contributions to the art and science of sound system design, digital signal processing, routing and electromagnetic compatibility”
Daniel Weiss: “For valuable contributions to the advancement in engineering practice and applications in the fields of digital audio mastering and signal processing”

Silver Medal Award:
Ioan Allen: “For outstanding contributions, sustained over four decades, to motion picture sound, including audio recording and playback technology, operational standards, equipment and the acoustics of cinemas”

Distinguished Service Medal Award:
Irv Joel: “For his many years of service to the New York Section; to AES Conventions both as a committee member and contributor; to the Historical Committee and in particular the Oral History Project. And, to the Standards Committee, of which he was a founding member”
Han Tendeloo: “In recognition of significant service and contributions to the development and management of the society, sustained over more than 30 years.”