Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Star Baseball Broadcaster Voting Commences

Fans again to select some finalists for Frick Award

Baseball fans, a dedicated lot if ever there was one, are encouraged to vote for their favorite broadcaster for the annual Ford C. Frick Award, presented by the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Similar to the annual mid-year All-Star game, fans will get to choose some of the finalists and a panel will determine the winner. The panel consists of well-known baseball announcers such as Vin Scully, Bob Uecker, Joe Garagiola and Tony Kubek along with baseball journalists. Most of the panel are previous winners of the Frick Award themselves.

Prospective voting fans can vote via the Hall of Fame’s Facebook page. Yes, even traditional baseball has succumbed to the social media fad.

Last year fans voted to add Tom Cheek, Jacques Doucet and Joe Nuxhall to the finalists’ list. Jon Miller was the eventual awardee.

The Frick Award is given each year to a baseball broadcaster with 10 or more years of experience.