Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Tom Jones to Receive NAB Radio Engineering Achievement Award

Two engineers well known in the world of U.S. radio broadcasting will be honored by the National Association of Broadcasters at the spring show.

Two engineers well known in the world of U.S. radio broadcasting will be honored by the National Association of Broadcasters at the spring show.

Tom Jones will receive the 2018 NAB Radio Engineering Achievement Award. He is president of Carl T. Jones Corp., having joined his father’s firm as a senior engineer in 1979. He became a full partner in 1983 and become president two years later.

“He has managed hundreds of complex broadcast engineering projects, served on industry and government advisory committees and has been heavily involved in the development of the Method Moments analysis for AM directional arrays and more recently the AM revitalization effort,” NAB stated in the announcement. (For a full list of past radio winners, see below.)

Clay Freinwald will receive the Service to Broadcast Engineering Achievement Award from NAB. He began his engineering career in 1961 and has held technical positions at numerous stations and station groups, including Tacoma News Tribune, Viacom and Entercom, according to the NAB announcement.

A recipient in 2007 of the Radio World Excellence in Engineering Award, Freinwald is a Fellow in the Society of Broadcast Engineers and a founding member of the Broadcast Warning Working Group, which helps broadcasters and others understand and implement EAS technology. He has served as chairman of the Washington State EAS Committee for over 20 years and chaired the SBE EAS Committee for a decade.

On the TV side, Roger Keating will receive the NAB Digital Leadership Award. He joined Hearst Television in 2008, overseeing its digital media unit and leading product development, business development and corporate development. His portfolio includes serving as the first chairman of Pearl TV, leadership in the Dyle mobile DTV project, support of the NAB SPROCKIT program and most recently leadership in the launch of NewsON, the mobile-only app for local news aggregation, according to the NAB announcement.

And the NAB Television Engineering Achievement Award will go to Mark Aitken, whom NAB described as “a dynamic leader in the development of Next Gen TV.” He joined Sinclair Broadcast Group in 1999 and became VP of advanced technology in 2011. “He has been involved in the broadcast industry’s migration to advanced services, including participation in the FCC Advisory Committee on Advanced Television Service, involvement in ATSC including chairing the specialist group on mobile DTV, and with the formation of Sinclair’s joint venture ONE Media, serving as its President.”


Recipients of the NAB Engineering Achievement Award are listed here. Beginning in 1991, radio and TV winners were named; radio winners are shown.

1959 John T. Wilner
1960 T.A.M. Craven
1961 Raymond F. Guy
1962 Ralph N. Harmon
1963 Dr. George R. Town
1964 John H. DeWitt Jr.
1965 Edward W. Allen Jr.
1966 Carl J. Meyers
1967 Robert M. Morris
1968 Howard A. Chinn
1969 Jarrett L. Hathaway

1970 Philip Whitney
1971 Benjamin Wolfe
1972 John M. Sherman
1973 A. James Ebel
1974 Joseph B. Epperson
1975 John D. Silva
1976 Dr. Frank G. Kear
1977 Daniel H. Smith
1978 John A. Moseley
1979 Robert W. Flanders

1980 James D. Parker
1981 Wallace E. Johnson
1982 Julius Barnathan
1983 Joseph Flaherty
1984 Otis S. Freeman
1985 Carl E. Smith
1986 Dr. George Brown
1987 Renville H. McMann
1988 Jules Cohen
1989 William Connolly

1990 Hilmer Swanson
1991 George Marti
1992 Edward Edison & Robert L. Hammett
1993 Robert M. Silliman
1994 Charles T. Morgan
1995 Robert Orban
1996 Ogden Prestholdt
1997 George Jacobs
1998 John Battison
1999 Geoffrey Mendenhall

2000 Michael Dorrough
2001 Arno Meyer
2002 Paul Schafer
2003 John W. Reiser
2004 E. Glynn Walden
2005 Milford Smith
2006 Benjamin Dawson & Ronald Rackley
2007 Louis A. King
2008 Thomas B. Silliman
2009 Jack Sellmeyer

2010 Steve Church
2011 L. Robert du Treil
2012 Paul Brenner
2013 Frank Foti
2014 Jeff Littlejohn
2015 Thomas F. King
2016 Andy Laird
2017 John Kean

2018 Tom Jones