Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


WLEN to Receive NAB Crystal Heritage Award

NAB Crystal Radio Awards Entries due by Jan. 31

WLEN Staff and Their Crystal Awards

NAB will honor WLEN(FM), Adrian, Mich., with the association’s Crystal Heritage Award.

The award will be presented during the NAB Show Radio Luncheon, held April 14, in Las Vegas.

The Heritage Award recognizes radio stations that have won a total of five Crystal Radio Awards for exceptional year-round community service efforts. Only four other stations have received this honor in the history of the NAB Crystal Radio Awards. They are: KNOM(AM/FM), Nome, Alaska, KUZZ(AM/FM), Bakersfield, Calif., KBHP(FM), Bemidji, Minn., and WUSL(FM), Philadelphia.

“While we don’t do what we do for recognition, it is a real tribute to the entire staff at Lenawee Broadcasting Co. for their hard work and dedication,” said WLEN(FM) President Julie Koehn.

Established in 1987, the Crystal Radio Awards bring national recognition to radio stations for their year-round commitment to serving their communities. To enter, a station must submit their online entry describing their community service efforts for the 2014 calendar year.

Radio stations can submit entries for a Crystal Radio Award until Jan. 31.

At the NAB Show Radio Luncheon the broadcast trade lobby will honor this year’s 10 Crystal Radio Award winners and 50 finalists. Kevin Ryder and Gene “Bean” Baxter, hosts of the “Kevin & Bean Morning Show,” on CBS Radio’s KROQ(FM), Los Angeles will be inducted into the NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame. Nationally syndicated radio personality, five-time Golden Globe nominee and New York Times best-selling author Marilu Henner will keynote the luncheon.