Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Chuck Lorre to be Inducted Into NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame

“The Big Bang Theory” creator to be honored at Television Luncheon

WASHINGTON — The National Association of Broadcasters will induct executive producer/writer Chuck Lorre into the NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame at the 2016 NAB Show Television Luncheon on April 18, in Las Vegas.

Lorre is co-creator/executive producer of “The Big Bang Theory,” as well as “Mom.” He is also executive producer of “Mike & Molly,” and he was previously co-creator/executive producer of “Two and a Half Men,” which aired for 12 seasons. Before that, Lorre created “Cybill,” “Dharma & Greg” and “Grace Under Fire,” and he also served as co-executive producer on “Roseanne.”

“His biting wit and memorable characters have become a part of our culture and defined an era of scripted comedies for Warner Bros. Television and CBS — comedies that remind us, on a weekly basis, of the scale and power of broadcast television,” said NAB Executive Vice President of Television Marcellus Alexander.

Lorre began his career touring the country and writing pop songs, before turning to television. He wrote animation scripts for DIC and Marvel Productions, then wrote and produced themes and scores for several animated series. A spec primetime script led to freelance work on the syndicated comedy “Charles in Charge” and a staff job on “My Two Dads.”

In 2015, Lorre helped establish “The Big Bang Theory” Scholarship Endowment at UCLA to support undergraduate students who are pursuing higher education in the fields of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics. The endowment has raised more than $4 million and supports a class of 20, with an additional five scholars to be added in each future year — in perpetuity.

Lorre has received industry accolades, including the NATPE Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Award, Television Showman of the Year at the 46th Annual ICG Publicists Awards Ceremony and a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. In 2012, he was inducted into the Television Academy Hall of Fame.

Photo: Art Streiber