Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


ABC News Radio Takes Home Murrow Award for Overall Excellence

The Radio Television Digital News Association has named the winners of the 2015 National Edward R. Murrow Awards.

“The Edward R. Murrow Awards shine a light on the outstanding work being done in newsrooms every day,” said RTDNA Executive Director Mike Cavender. “Each year, the winners raise the bar and inspire their fellow journalists to tell great stories.”

In the network radio division, National Public Radio received awards for Hard News, Use of Sound and Investigative Reporting. CBS Radio News won three awards in the same division: Continuing Coverage, Feature Reporting and Newscast. “State of the Re:Union” repeated as the winner of the News Documentary award. The podcast “Serial” won the Edward R. Murrow Award for News Series.

Three newsrooms got double wins this year. In the Small Market Radio division, WGLT(FM), the NPR affiliate at Illinois State University in Normal, Ill., won for both News Series and Investigative Reporting for its entry “Police and Race in the Twin Cities: A WGLT News Investigative Five-part Series.” In the Large Market Radio division, KIRO(FM) in Seattle won for Sports Reporting and Use of Sound for its entry “Something Special.”

To receive an Overall Excellence award, a news organization must exemplify the highest standards in serving its audience through quality electronic journalism, according to RTDNA.

For the second year in a row, ABC News Radio and ABC News (television) both won the Edward R. Murrow Award for Overall Excellence at the network level. ABC’s radio team also won awards for Breaking News, Sports Reporting and Writing.

This year’s Overall Excellence award winners are:

● ABC News, New York (Network Television)
● ABC News Radio, New York (Network Radio)
● The Denver Post, Denver (Large Online News Organization)
● Free Press Media, Burlington, Vt. (Small Online News Organization)
● KING(TV), Seattle (Large Market Television)
● KETV(TV), Omaha, Neb. (Small Market Television)
● WCBS, New York (Large Market Radio)
● New Hampshire Public Radio, Concord, N.H. (Small Market Radio)

This year, RTDNA awarded 104 national Edward R. Murrow Awards in 13 categories including Feature Reporting, Hard News, Overall Excellence and more. RTDNA received more than 4,200 entries during the 2015 awards season, setting a record for the third consecutive year. The winners will be recognized at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala in New York City on Oct. 12. Tickets can be purchased online.