Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Brian Purdy Named TAB’s Broadcaster of the Year

Purdy is CBS Radio Dallas-Fort Worth’s senior vice president and market manager

The Texas Association of Broadcasters honored five individuals during TAB’s Annual Awards Gala, including CBS Radio Dallas-Fort Worth’s Brian Purdy as the Broadcaster of the Year.

Purdy accepts his award during the TAB Awards Gala

Purdy is the senior vice president and market manager at CBS Radio Dallas-Fort Worth, having been with the stations since 2004. TAB describes the cluster’s 2016 as one of its “best years ever” in terms of ratings growth and community service thanks to Purdy’s efforts, including raising $1.26 million during the “Christmas for Children” Radiothon.

“Every day is a terrific adventure working with our outstanding team, who responsibly inform, entertain, serve and protect Texans throughout the state,” Purdy said while accepting the award. “I wish they all could be standing up here with me right now.”

In addition to Purdy, TAB recognized four other individuals. Wendell Mayes, Jr., received TAB’s Lifetime Achievement Award for his work as a radio broadcaster running his family owned-stations across the state. Bob White was named Pioneer of the Year for his past work in radio and television stations over his 60-year career. The George Marti Award for Engineering Excellence went to Errol Coker of KHCB Radio. Dan Sessler of RF Specialties was named Associate of the Year.

The Awards Gala took place on Aug. 10 to close out the 2017 TAB Convention in Austin, Texas.